Comment Spam JoeJob Example
Ask and ye shall receive. Here's an example of a blacklist poisoning comment-spam attempt we just got tonight:
Author : Charles Ford (IP: 196.7.0.160 , ge1-0.cc1.cpt1.alter.net)
E-mail : Joshua@internet.com
URI : http://www.av.com
Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=196.7.0.160
Comment:
Very informative site. Good job. thins that excited you at 14:
http://www.adobe.com , <a href="http://www.yahoo.co.uk" rel="nofollow">thins
that excited you at 14</a> , <a href="http://www.panasonic.com"
rel="nofollow">black girls on their mission</a>
Note that not one of the URLs is actually a spam URL, but are instead common high-profile URLs. This example is not as insidious as others I have seen, which use specific URLs from low-profile but legitimate bloggers.
Comments
Indeed, that's pretty much
Indeed, that's pretty much the point. I've seen a massive upswing in this joe-jobbing spam. We've been getting 20-30 a day with all legit sites.
I've been getting loads of
I've been getting loads of this kind of spam on my site; some of which inserts my own URL into it. What's the motive here? Just screwing up MT Blacklist? (I'm still using MT 3.1.7 on my site, advicegoddess.com)